Conflicting Messages or Throwing Blame…A Common Practice

Word Faith teachers knowingly keep their followers in a state of confusion by teaching conflicting messages. Their basic premise is working the word correctly will work for you. The messages are about how YOU have to believe and SAY the correct positive confession in order to live the abundant life God has intended for you. Sickness and lack is not an indication of success and you can’t help build the Kingdom if you don’t….look the part. The King’s kids should look like they are children of a king…so they say.

One night, I was thinking about how blessed I am that the Lord opened my eyes to see the darkness I was in. But when I think about my blessings, I always think about the people I know who are still being lulled to sleep and being fed poison week after week with word faith teachings.

I remember many times leaving church service on “Cloud 9″. I just knew everything was going to be perfect because I made my confessions. I was thinking positive and I spoke that I was blessed and highly favored. Eventually life kicked in and I had the same problems everyone else had. Why wasn’t the word working for me?

While thinking about all the mess that I still have to detox from, I remembered the pulpit corrections. That is when someone publicly says what they couldn’t say privately. It’s a cowardly move.

I remember seeing pulpit correction growing up in COGIC. I heard my mother, and anyone who disobeyed the pastor, talked about and corrected from the pulpit. I started hearing corrections meant for me at about 13 years of age and it continued until I left in 2001. I do not remember hearing pulpit correction when I first started attending In Christ new Hope Ministry. It happened gradually.

I hope I haven’t lost you. This line of thought does pertain to the conflicting messages.

Even though names are not mentioned, somebody’s conversation is being referenced. And the true response or feelings for that conversation come out across the pulpit. Take a listen for yourself (video length 2:38). 

OK…so maybe you didn’t hear it and you think I am being overly critical.

Here is what happened. He’s feeding off the congregations desire to live the abundant life…to be successful…greed. Eventually, people are going to realize abundance is not coming to them, so they need a dose of correction. The pastors message is always correct, the listener has the problem. The enemy is keeping them SELF-occupied and not Christ-occupied. Well now, doesn’t that go against the whole positive confession principle? Positive confession is about stating what you want. “Words will change or establish YOUR circumstances”.

You cannot make positive confessions and NOT think about YOURSELF. 

In the video, the speaker says one who says they are “getting through the struggle” or says their day is “tough”…well…they are immature and need to grow up. They need to be focused on Christ. Because when you are “thinking about Christ you’re not thinking about any struggles.”

Not only is this confusing, it is subtle behavior modification. The congregation is being taught to think a certain way. The congregation should not confess their bad day. That’s a negative confession. That is focusing on self when he just said not to. It’s a horrible cycle of deception.

The congregation is also making a mental note that you should not let the pastor hear you talk in this manner. I remember many people secretly sharing a problem but not wanting anyone to know. They did not want to be seen as doubting the promises of God. After all, everyone is supposed to be blessed and highly favored.

This practice is a misinterpretation of 2 Corinthians 4:18. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal. But even reading verses 16 and 17 show this verse teaches us to be strong in the midst of struggles because of the reward of eternal glory outweighs everything.

Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For the light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all.

Although the gospel is not about us. Ignoring the problems and struggles of life is not the answer. There are many scriptures that reference the real struggles of believers.

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecution, and calamities. For when I a, weak, then I am strong. 2 Corinthians 12:9-10

The Lord is a refuge for the oppressed, a strong in times of trouble. Psalms 9:9-10

I have set the Lord always before me. Because he is at my right hand, I will not be shaken. Psalms 16:8

You are my hiding place; you will protect me trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance. Psalms 32:7-8

I sought the Lord and he heard me, and delivered me from all my fears. Psalms 34:4

I am still growing. I have not arrived, but I have come to understand that it is not healthy to ignore the struggles of life. We are to rest in Christ. He will either remove the struggle or strengthen us to be able to endure. Life can hurt and we need to run to Jesus. He is our strong tower. He is our refuge.

Many individuals in the word faith may never see the light of truth. That hurts. But they’re refusing to seek the truth. I refused at one time, but by God’s grace, I can now see. For individuals under the word faith teaching or any doctrine contrary to the simple truth of the gospel, the bible shows:

For the time will come when people will not put up with sound doctrine. Instead, to suit their own desires, they will gather around them a great number of teachers to say what their itching ears want to hear. They will turn their ears away from the truth and turn aside to myths.

To the believers, keep your head in all situations, endure hardship, do the work of an evangelist, discharge all the duties of your ministry. So one day you’ll be able to say I‘ve fought the good fight, I’ve finished the race and kept the faith. Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day—and not only to me, but also to all who have longed for his appearing.

I urge you to seek the truth! God is faithful and will open your eyes.

About experiencesinwordoffaith

I am a follower of the risen Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. The purpose of this blog is to share my experience from when I was in the Word of Faith movement. Word of Faith road that seems right until the truth is revealed. I may never know why all this happened. But I can do my best to share my story to help someone else. Each and every believer is called to test all spirits and when there is danger, sound the alarm. Ephesians 5:6-17 reads "Let no one deceive you with empty words, for because of such things God’s wrath comes on those who are disobedient. Therefore do not be partners with them. For you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Live as children of light (for the fruit of the light consists in all goodness, righteousness and truth) and find out what pleases the Lord. Have nothing to do with the fruitless deeds of darkness, but rather expose them. For it is shameful even to mention what the disobedient do in secret. But everything exposed by the light becomes visible, for it is light that makes everything visible. This is why it is said: “Wake up, O sleeper, rise from the dead, and Christ will shine on you.” Be very careful, then, how you live—not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the Lord’s will is. " View all posts by experiencesinwordoffaith

11 responses to “Conflicting Messages or Throwing Blame…A Common Practice

  • Damon Whitsell

    Your really hitting your stride now. THANK YOU FOR SHARING!!!

  • Damon Whitsell

    Reblogged this on THE WORD on The Word of Faith (a GroupBlog) and commented:
    I have been so very blessed to meet many people who have left the Word of Faith Movement and teachings. And it is totally awesome that so many of them have shared their hearts and lifes, on my site, to help others get free from the DOUBLE B
    IND that is the WoF.

    This lady here has her own blog and post regularly on it. She is hitting her stride, opening her heart and sharing her studies and meditations. SHE IS GOING TO HELP SO MANY PEOPLE. Please visit her and giver her some support – it’s tough taking a stand like she is doing, and she sill get attacked often for it – so I am sure she could use some encouragement.

    If you would like to ready about 50 ex-WoF testimonies – visit my page here.

    http://thewordonthewordoffaithinfoblog.com/testimony-page/

  • danny

    good material. welcome to the fight against the WoF. Keep up the good work.
    dh @freefromwolves

  • Damon Whitsell

    Hello Ma’am, Danny is the person I mentioned elsewhere that would like to add you full testimony to his testimony collection too. He has a great site @ http://freedomfromwolves.blogspot.com/

  • Rose

    I left a word of faith church and so it’s nice to hear from others who knows what it’s like to be in a church like this. I have had messages through the pulpet that I know was directed towards me and I was told that people who talked about the pastor would fall down dead. they used allot of fear to gain control.

    • experiencesinwordoffaith

      It took me a long time to understand that it’s a self-made leader who resorts to fear and manipulation to control others. Sadly, I can recall sitting back and watching this happen to others. I didn’t do a thing. Now, when I think about the type of person who would say something like this, I see an immature bully who seeks to rule the lives of others. It’s truly a sad state.

  • krhodes1977

    Excellent points. Keep up the good work. We are now fighting the GOOD fight of faith.

  • 1day1photoatatime

    I am so very happy that you have been rescued from WOF. Praise the Lord. Please keep posting everywhere you can and on social sites.
    I am connected to WOF in so many different ways, but I am not one of them, nor have I ever been. I am sad that I cannot tell you of my connections but it would bring judgement upon my family.

    Worldly Christians are less tolerant of other Christians that stand for Truth but seemingly quite tolerant of The World. I am so shocked how many Blind Christians there are these days. None of them show a morsel of discernment when it comes to False Prophets, Another Gospel or Another Jesus being amongst them. Like Paul said, they can tolerate it. God forbid.

    Again, you are amazing in your stand for exposing the heresies within the ranks of WOF. God will richly bless you…as He sees fit…and in His will. The finish of our race is near.
    Bless you….

    • experiencesinwordoffaith

      Thank you for the comment. I am itching to know this connection. But I completely understand about the judgement. I had so much uncompassion, I avoided people who had personal struggles. It was in the midst of my own struggles where I learned that God was sovereign. Thank you!

      • 1day1photoatatime

        Sorry, I just saw your reply. My connection…… my husband and I gave a WOF follower over 50K. All given before we knew the truth about WOF heresies. This was a foreign person. We paid for…. and 100% supported them for 2 yrs @Rhema (Tulsa).,,but 3+ yrs in total. We refused to go to his graduation, saying our presence would condone WOF. Yes, I knew he was extremely weird in his personality, his quirks, his ‘positive always’ remarks, which I knew caused him to lie to me at times. I knew these things, but I always thought it had to do with his ‘own’ doings. I did NOT know he was expressing WOF beliefs. It is so deeply heartbreaking to me..how WOF completely separates persons from the ‘norm’ in anything. WOF teachings causes great sins in those who follow it. Now…because he ‘was’ so blessed by our money, he has an editor and has nearly finished a book on “Faith”. I feel so awful, as my sincere intentions was used to further his entrenchment in Hagin and his false teachings. So, I too, am healing, each day. I know I am forgiven, but what I did so harmed His Kingdom. I have been a born again believer since I was 6 yrs old. My husband went thru 4 yrs of Bible school (A/G) when we 1st married. We were assoc. pastors, pastors, and have been in charity and ministry work all our 47 yrs of marriage…..YET we were duped.
        I hope you are still strong in your recovery, and have loving support.
        I have tried several times to get this guy to see the truth but to NO avail. It will be The Holy Spirit …..only…… to rescue him from this soul-snatching snare. God help him I pray.
        What you say, non-compassion, avoidance, were a part of him, as well as afraid of friendships, relationships. His Rhema Pastor in Latvia told him to never pray. He only made demands of God, and thanked him, before he ‘got’ them. To see such a lost soul, so immature in the ‘real’ Word, yet making himself equal with God has been incredibly hard for me…..to wrap my mind around it. I’ve never known a LOST Christian before. If you have any questions, please ask them. Thank you!

  • 1day1photoatatime

    I didn’t know any of the heresies….practiced by WOF, until I decided for myself to really dig into them. Now, thru FB and just talking to ‘other’ Christians…..I have found many, many Christians who are still ignorant like I WAS !!! They have rebuked me in ‘my’ judgement of WOF. This has really opened my eyes, but sometimes I wish I didn’t know of all these awful things…as I have kept my life pure. I wailed and wailed when I first read the heresy that Hagin said MY JESUS submitted to satan and demons and was tortured by them. Did not all demons fear Jesus MORE than ‘any human’ ever did…..while he was on Earth????? Yes, of course, so how, HOW could any one ever believe….this demonic teaching and give satan glory ?????? I am still sooooooo numb…..

Leave a Reply

CoLoNiSt

righteousness | peace | en-joy

JUSTICE IN THE CHURCH OF GOD IN CHRIST:

The Lord executeth righteousness and judgement for the oppressed. Ps 103:6

Finding Revelation

Biblical Truth by Ron Braley

Third World Osteen

applying osteen-isms to the poorest of the poor

Mimi's Kitchen

You never know what might be on the table!

The Spitfire Grill

Is not my word like fire ... and like the hammer that breaks the rock in pieces? (Jeremiah 23:29)

Missional Meanderings

A Pastor Trying to Learn What Being Missional Is All About

Christians United Against Apostasy

Fighting Spiritual Formation, Emerging/Emergent/Emergence teachings, Ecumenism, the New Age Movement and all things heretical

Salvation is not what God does FOR a believer, Salvation is what God does IN a believer.

'Exhorting and Refuting...'

...a blog by YouTube's 'NYTN'

Exit Churchianity

growing in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ

Discernment Ministries International

Teaching Truth and Exposing Error

BetterThanSacrifice.org

Bible-Based, Christ-Centred Resources and Comment

Redeemingmoments

Time spent with the Lord in His Word!

Closingstages

“He who has once begun to deceive others, is the less easily able to recover himself from error, and the more easily embraces in turn the errors of others.” - Johann Albrecht Bengel

THE WORD on The Word of Faith (a GroupBlog)

BREAKING FREE from The Word of Faith Movement & telling the World about it! TELL US YOUR STORY

m'kayla's korner

Make sure that the light you think you have is not actually darkness. Luke 11:35

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

