“The Secret” DVD

I was a big Oprah fan. I think Oprah was the only person I can honestly say I followed and worshiped. I recorded every episode on DVR and looked forward to watching her show while cooking dinner.

I remember watching the episode about The Secret. I enjoyed the show, but had no interest in buying the DVD. It wasn’t that I didn’t want to see it. I don’t shop for or by DVDs. I don’t buy music CDs.  The collection of gospel CDs I have is from a trial period for a mail order music club or from friends. If my kids wanted a CD or DVD, they would have to really butter me up. Ok…enough of that.

So I am watching the Oprah show and this day my husband happens to be home early from work and reading his magazine. Something he hears catches his attention and the next thing I know, this man has ordered the DVD! When it arrives, we pop some popcorn and start the show.

What I heard is what I have been hearing in church! I remember telling my husband “This is everything we learn in church minus the words Jesus and God.” I was excited. I had struggled with some of the teaching at church. I couldn’t understand how my words could create my reality and shape my world. I have a temper and learned how to swear like a sailor while in the Army. When I became upset, those swear words would swim in my head and I would be itching to say them.

When the pastor spoke Proverbs 23:7 – “For as he thinketh in his heart, so is he” or quoted  Matthew 12:34 – “For out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks”,  I felt crushed because I knew my thoughts were wicked towards anyone who angered me.

I learned that words are powerful and formed my circumstances. The pastor would always say we were the  sum total of everything we’ve spoken or believed. He said if you don’t like what you see – change what you say.  I then added to my  daily confessions (New Age Positive Thought wrapped in Churchianity) …the love of Christ was shed abroad in my heart. Every prayer I said always included this statement.

I believed “The Secret” helped put all I was being taught into a simpler format. All I needed to do was insert God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit. Because  I crafted a story in my head on how to accept the teachings of the “The Secret”, I invited friends over for a Girls Night Out. I would play the DVD and pause it to  reference scripture. Some things I would reject and fast-forward. I also lent the DVD out to anyone who asked.

I am embarrassed to even share this part of my life. I was deceived and deceiving others.

But through the grace of the Lord Jesus Christ and his mercy, I started seeing “The Secret” as another failed attempt to make life better. Eventually I started seeing the truth about the teaching I was under, Word of Faith. The Holy Spirit IS the true teacher of the church. I had to repent of my sins. It was not a simple “forgive me of the sins I know of and the ones I don’t” kind of  prayer I usually prayed. This repentance was from deep anguish and an outpouring of pain and resentment. I don’t think I can explain it in words. I cried myself to sleep many nights and questioned if I was even saved.

Once I realized my sins were forgiven, I cried even more at the saving grace that I was given. I could still be under that deception. I could have become a false teacher going from church to church spewing doctrines of demons. But I’m not. I am saved through the blood of Jesus Christ. I am not longer bound to the traditions of man, but free…truly free!

If you own The Secret DVD or book, I encourage you to do some research. Do not take my word for it. You can start  here.

About experiencesinwordoffaith

I am a follower of the risen Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. The purpose of this blog is to share my experience from when I was in the Word of Faith movement. Word of Faith road that seems right until the truth is revealed. I may never know why all this happened. But I can do my best to share my story to help someone else. Each and every believer is called to test all spirits and when there is danger, sound the alarm. Ephesians 5:6-17 reads "Let no one deceive you with empty words, for because of such things God’s wrath comes on those who are disobedient. Therefore do not be partners with them. For you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Live as children of light (for the fruit of the light consists in all goodness, righteousness and truth) and find out what pleases the Lord. Have nothing to do with the fruitless deeds of darkness, but rather expose them. For it is shameful even to mention what the disobedient do in secret. But everything exposed by the light becomes visible, for it is light that makes everything visible. This is why it is said: “Wake up, O sleeper, rise from the dead, and Christ will shine on you.” Be very careful, then, how you live—not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the Lord’s will is. " View all posts by experiencesinwordoffaith

5 responses to ““The Secret” DVD

  • Damon Whitsell

    I knew you would soon write one that should be featured on our testimony page,, I’ll link it directly to this page to get you some more traffic cause your doing great. I think I added you to our ex-WoF blogroll. I’ll make sure. GOD BLESS YA, Damon

  • Page Herring

    I have friends that also are in love with the teachings of the secret and take it as gospel. These are people I love and care about! I was also involved in a Word of Faith Church actually two of them and I make this known to be able to help others especially women that fall into this false teaching that can leave an individual depressed to the point of suicidal. Please I ask for no tears for me because I got out and I am putting my life together but I feel that God has given me healing so that I can know this kind of oppression and help other
    s that have been in my boat. THanks

    • experiencesinwordoffaith

      Hello Page. I know the pain you feel for loved ones who are still sleeping. I am learning that it takes someone who was freed from deception to understand the depths of why we take the stand we do. We know the destruction it causes. I had several seasons of depression while in this church. But because of the teaching “you’ll have what you say” I tried to pretend as if it did not exist. I know those thoughts. The horrible thoughts that only God can bring you from. I have your information and hope to talk to you soon.

  • Mike Rogers

    I can certainly see the resemblance between “The Secret” and the “name it and claim it” Word of Faith teachings. I’m a literalist in that I accept the clear and plain teachings of the Scripture. I do remember hearing about “The Secret,” just never watched it. Once upon a time I got all caught up in the WoF but thanks be to God He forced me out. Now my wife and I spend our time trying to reach others with the truth of God’s Word, however I’ve noticed in the last four or five years our success rate is low as many it seems blow us off, ostracize us, and tell us we are just old relics with bronze age beliefs. Even here on the internet many misunderstand us and will no longer have anything to do with us. Anyway, I have discovered the real “Secret” is in knowing Jesus Christ and abiding in the truth of His teachings. God Bless you for your article.

Leave a Reply

Finding Revelation

Biblical Truth by Ron Braley

Third World Osteen

applying osteen-isms to the poorest of the poor

Mimi's Kitchen

You never know what might be on the table!

The Spitfire Grill

Is not my word like fire ... and like the hammer that breaks the rock in pieces? (Jeremiah 23:29)

Missional Meanderings

A Pastor Trying to Learn What Being Missional Is All About

Christians United Against Apostasy

Fighting Spiritual Formation, Emerging/Emergent/Emergence teachings, Ecumenism, the New Age Movement and all things heretical

Salvation is not what God does FOR a believer, Salvation is what God does IN a believer.

'Exhorting and Refuting...'

...a blog by YouTube's 'NYTN'

Exit Churchianity

And if the Son sets you free, you shall be free indeed

Discernment Ministries International

Teaching Truth and Exposing Error

BetterThanSacrifice.org

Bible-Based, Christ-Centred Resources and Comment

Redeemingmoments

Time spent with the Lord in His Word!

Closingstages

“He who has once begun to deceive others, is the less easily able to recover himself from error, and the more easily embraces in turn the errors of others.” - Johann Albrecht Bengel

THE WORD on The Word of Faith (a GroupBlog)

BREAKING FREE from The Word of Faith Movement & telling the World about it! TELL US YOUR STORY

m'kayla's korner

Make sure that the light you think you have is not actually darkness. Luke 11:35

DiscernIt

Deut 32:28 "They are a nation without sense, there is no discernment in them."

Real Christianity

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. (John 8:32)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

